Seneca the Younger, Apocolocyntosis

LCL 15: 468-469

Go To Section
Go To Section
Tools

INTRODUCTION

  • Riikonen, defines Menippean satire and includes the Apoc. in it.
  • Coffey2 (165–77), comments on literary history rather than criticism and places the Apoc. in with Varro and Petronius as Menippean satire. Most of the space in this book is given to Horace and Juvenal.
  • O’Gorman (95–108), holds that the Apoc. is not quite in the tradition of Horace, Persius, or Juvenal, and fits better with Menippean satire, as a repository of quotations.
  • Heil, notes that Seneca makes much of Claudius’ birth outside of Italy and that he does not descend from Troy like the Julians.
  • Bonandini1 (358–62), reviews the literature on the Apoc.
  • Vannini (xx–xxxiv), discourses on the special place of the Apoc. in Menippean satire.
  • Bonandini2, offers a commentary on the nature of Seneca’s use of Menippean satire and a detailed analysis of the numerous citations of Greek and Latin writers and of the poetic passages.
  • Roncali2 (673–86)
8. Study of the Poetry in the Apoc.
  • Bonandini2, provides the best study of the poetry.
9. Apoc. as a Carnival
  • Nauta, holds that the Apoc. is a work of Saturnalian literature.
  • Robinson, Claudius is a monster fit for the Saturnalia.
  • Bonandini1 (353–58).
  • Bonandini2 (11–43).
468

INTRODUCTION

10. Studies of the Reception of the Apoc.
  • Eden2 (17–23).
  • Courtney
  • Roncali2 (683–86).
SIGLA

SSangallensis 569, ninth century
VValentianensis 411 (formerly 393), ninth century
LLondiniensis British Library Addit. 11983, twelfth century

Guideline for notes to the Latin text: as long as one of the three families supports the reading in the text as well as modern editors, I do not as a rule record variants in the notes. If a number of editors find problems with a reading in all three families, I make my own judgment. Fundmental variants are in the notes.

SYMBOLS AND ABBREVIATIONS USED IN THE LATIN TEXT

< >letters enclosed in angle brackets must be added to the text
{ }letters enclosed in braces must be deleted
<***>lacuna in the text of unknown length
469
DOI: 10.4159/DLCL.seneca_younger-apocolocyntosis.2020